Action Research Communities (ARCs) are ways members create small but active groups of people who want to share resources, strategies, practices and ideas around a specific topic. They are established as the needs and interests of ARNA members evolve. At present we have a number of groups that have started, with some more active that others. We are also encouraging the formation of new groups. To join a community, contact the facilitator, or to create a new group contact Wendy Thomas.

ARCs… in action.

Early Childhood Education

Co-Chairs : Mina Kim, San Francisco State University (romany37@gmail.com), and Candace Kaye, New Mexico State University (kaye@nmsu.edu )


Graduate Students

Co-Chair: Wendy Thomas, Moravian College (wthomas@nazarethasd.org) and Co-Chair: Vacancy


Health Care

Chair: Nancy Murphy, Howard University (nancy.murphy@howard.edu)

Mary Canales, Platsburgh, NY, (mk2canales@gmail.com)
Gennifer Holt, Durham, NC, (genniferhold@yahoo.com)
Nelly Gomez, Vancouver, BC, (ngomez@vcc.ca)
Shari Laliberte, Vancouver, BC, (slaliberte@vcc.ca)
Abe Oudshoorn, London, Ontario, (aoudshoo@gmail.com)
Maggie Pharris, St. Paul, MN, (mdpharris@stkate.edu)
Erin Yeagley, Arlington, VA, (eyeagley@email.gwu.edu)


Participatory Action Research & Popular Education

Chair: Camilo Manchola, University of Brasilia (camilomanchola@gmail.com)


School Counseling

Co-Chairs: Morgan Urbany (morganurbany@sandiego.edu) and  Scott Merkel (merkelsh@pwcs.edu)

Website: http://www.schoolcounselor-advocate.com


School Leadership

Co-Chairs: Randy Ziegenfuss (ziegeran@gmail.com) and Lynn Fuini-Hetten (lfuinihetten@gmail.com), Salisbury Township School District


Supporting the Teaching of Action Research (STAR)

Mission: Beginning with a Learning Circle Approach, each member leads the group around a project idea and will be developing the site resources around that topic.

Chair: Margaret Riel, Pepperdine University (mmriel@gmail.com)

Website: https://sites.google.com/view/star-arna-arc


Youth Participatory Action Research

Co-Chairs: Chris Buttimer, Harvard University (chrisbuttimer4444@gmail.com), and Paula Elias, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto (paula.elias@mail.utoronto.ca)